Hail Mary Hack Job

For the past month or so, I’ve been pretty bummed out because my race bike broke and was in the shop. The dropper post blew up and was / is stuck in the frame and the team at the local bike shop were unsuccessful at getting the post out and we are now working through the warranty replacement process. A couple days ago, I received some really bad news that I would have to wait 90 days for the next shipment of carbon frames to arrive and in the meantime, they are searching for an alloy frame. Turns out they can’t find an alloy frame which left me shit out of luck.

I was now facing the possibility of losing the 2017 race season…. I became very desperate.

My coach lent me his daughters Jamis carbon hard tail 29er and this week I planned on swapping some parts from my bike over to the Jamis. I paid the local bike shop a visit to pickup my bike. and when they pulled it out of the back room, I gave it one look and realized, I could rig the seat post and be able to ride it.

Last night, I put the bike back together with the quickness, fashioned a very horrible hack job on the seat post consisting of some drilling, a bolt, some creative McGivering and electrical tape and voila, I’m back in business.  I had a workout scheduled for this morning so I decided to see if the hack job would hold and if so, I’d register for Sunday’s race at Fair Hill.

Long story short, I’m registered… Fair Hill here I come… Looks like I may be able to salvage this race season. Fingers crossed the hack job holds until the new frames arrive.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.