Bonding with little buddy… AJ

AJ and I had a blast at yesterday’s NICA event at Lewis Morris park. Being able to connect with him one on one yesterday was priceless. Having three boys, one on one opportunities don’t happen often enough and thankfully AJ and I seized the moment. AJ and I were glowing after our ride. That ride was his first real mountain bike ride in trails and I was so proud of how well he did. He was very receptive to coaching tips along the way. All the time we’ve spent at the weekly skills practices enabled me the ability to coach him through out the ride and allowed him to be familiar and apply the techniques to the actual ride. “Ready position, elbows out, fingers on the brakes, head up looking further up the trail, out of the saddle, light on the hands…” He was able to ride the entire course with tentative confidence and zero crashes. That was HUGE for AJ. On our way home, as we were talking about the day, I realized that he and I share the fact that our first real mountain bike rides were at Lewis Morris. So Cool!

Such a great experience for us. thanks to Robin Dunn, Fred Brown and Ben Tufford of Cognition Coaching for helping make this opportunity a positive one.

We arrived home, unpacked, ate, showered and as soon as I hit the couch, I passed out… like 8pm passed out.

Look at him go… Such a proud moment for me.. The kind of moment that gives me the urge to shed a tear of happiness on the top tube.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.